7 Of The Best Books To Read This May 2020

As summer rapidly approaches, you might want to start thinking about the books you want to read during your garden tanning sessions. Whether you’re into gripping thrillers, romantic stories that transport you to a faraway place or educational material, we’ve found loads of books you might now have heard of but really should. Keep reading to create your perfect reading list for May 2020 and discover the best swimwear so you can coordinate the book cover to your sun-lounging look…

1. Very Nearly Normal by Hannah Sunderland

Effie’s not perfect. Neither is Theo. But together, they’re pretty close. But Theo has a life-changing secret, and as Effie starts to realise that she’s falling in love instead of falling apart, fate steps in and deals her a new hand. This book is the perfect pick-me-up to read during lockdown and perfect for fans of novels like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and Me Before You.

2. Around the World in 80 Trains by Monisha Rajesh

Get transported to a different place and follow Monisha Rajesh’s unforgettable adventure that takes her from London’s St Pancras station to the vast expanses of Russia and Mongolia, North Korea, Canada, Kazakhstan, and beyond. The journey is one of constant movement and mayhem as her and her fiancé strike up friendships and swap stories with the hilarious, irksome and ultimately endearing travellers they meet on board…

3. After The End by Clare Mackintosh

This might just be the most hopeful book of 2020. Max and Pip are the strongest couple you know, only now they’re facing the most important decision of their lives – and they don’t agree. With the consequences of an impossible choice threatening to devastate them both, nothing will ever be the same again. You need to hear what happens after the end…

4. Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson

A smart, suspenseful thriller described by readers as ‘Desperate Housewives meets Killing Eve’? We’re sold. Never Have I Ever pits two strong female protagonists against each other in a battle to outwit the other. You won’t be able to put this one down…

5. Humankind by Rutger Bregman

This book makes a new argument: that it is realistic, as well as revolutionary, to assume that people are good. The instinct to cooperate rather than compete, trust rather than distrust, has an evolutionary basis going right back to the beginning of Homo sapiens. Author Rutger Bregman takes some of the world’s most famous studies and events and reframes them, providing a new perspective on the last 200,000 years of human history…

6. The Dutch House by Ann Patchett 

Feeling melancholic? Told with Ann Patchett’s inimitable blend of wit and heartbreak, The Dutch House is a story of family, betrayal, love, responsibility and sacrifice; of the powerful bonds of place and time that magnetise and repel us for our whole lives, and the lives of those who survive us…

7. The Guest List, Lucy Foley

Another thriller you will read back to back in no time is Lucy Foley’s The Guest List. The wedding cake has barely been cut when one of the guests is found dead. And as a storm unleashes its fury on the island, everyone is trapped. All have a secret. All have a motive. It’ll end in murder…