9 Books You Need To Know About Right Now

Looking for a new read that will both educate and inspire you? Then you’ve come to the right place, as we just collated the ultimate list of nine books that are extremely topical right now and should give you loads of new insights, entertain and broaden your horizon. So, keep scrolling to discover our top book recommendations of the week…

1. Slay In Your Lane: The Black Girl Bible by Yomi Adegoke and Elizabeth Uviebinené

This is the inspirational guide to life for a generation of black British women inspired to make lemonade out of lemons, and find success in every area of their lives. From education to work to dating, this inspirational, honest and provocative book recognises and celebrates the strides black women have already made, while providing practical advice for those who want to do the same and forge a better, visible future.

2. Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron

Perfect for fans of Black Panther, this explosive fantasy set in a West African world of magic and legend. Follow as one girl must sacrifice her life, year by year, to gain the power necessary to live up to the expectations of the mother she has never been good enough for…

3. Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch

In her Sunday Times bestselling book, Afua Hirsch explores Britains imperial past, the racism that plagues our present and issues an urgent call for change. Brit(ish) is about a search for identity and our awkward, troubled relationship with our history.

4. Mouth Full of Blood by Toni Morrison

Spanning four decades, these essays, speeches and meditations interrogate the world around us. Spanning race, gender and globalisation, American history, the current state of politics, the duty of the press and the role of the artist, in this book our search for truth, moral integrity and expertise is met by Toni Morrison with controlled anger, elegance and literary excellence.

5. The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Told between the 1950s to the 1990s, this book weaves together multiple strands and generations of one family. As well as being a riveting, emotional family story, it is also a brilliant exploration of the American history of passing. Looking well beyond issues of race, The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person’s decisions, desires, and expectations…

6. The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Dare

Adunni is a fourteen-year-old Nigerian girl who knows what she wants: an education. But, she is is removed from school and sold as a third wife to an old man. When unspeakable tragedy swiftly strikes in her new home, she is secretly sold as a domestic servant to a household in the wealthy enclaves of Lagos, where no one will talk about the strange disappearance of her predecessor. No one but Adunni…

7. My Past is a Foreign Country by Zeba Talkhani

28-year-old Zeba Talkhani charts her experiences of growing up in Saudi Arabia amid patriarchal customs reminiscent of The Handmaid’s Tale, and her journey to find freedom in India, Germany and the UK. Along the way, she offers a fresh perspective on living as an outsider, examines her relationship with her mother and the challenges she faced when she experienced hair loss at a young age.

8. A Kind of Freedom by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Evelyn is a Creole woman who comes of age in New Orleans at the height of World War II. Her family inhabits the upper echelon of Black society, and when she falls for no-account Renard, she is forced to choose between her life of privilege and the man she loves…

9. Self Made by A’Lelia Bundles

Now a Netflix limited series, Self Made tells the story of Madam Walker and her journey to becoming one of the wealthiest self-made women in America. From humble beginnings, she overcame societal prejudice, family betrayals and epic business rivalries to pioneer cosmetics that revolutionised black hair care and build a beauty empire…

 

Need some new people to follow? Discover the eleven Instagram accounts we’re loving right now…